{Frog and Friends: Party at the Pond: Eeve Bunting}Frog and Friends: Party at the Pond by Eve Bunting
Series: Frog and Friends
Published by Sleeping Bear Press on October 1, 2011
Genres: Childrens
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover
Source: Public Library
Buy on Amazon

{Synopsis} – Welcome to Frog and his world. He enjoys nothing better than spending time floating in his pond or visiting with his friends. He appreciates the simpler things in life and would prefer that things stay just the way they are–nice and peaceful. From acclaimed children's writer Eve Bunting comes a new beginning reader series featuring the delightful Frog and his friends Rabbit, Possum, Raccoon, and Squirrel. In the first book Frog is alarmed when he finds a strange object in his pond, he tries to re-gift a scarf, and he makes friends with a runaway hippo. In Party at the Pond Frog is busy with his autumn party, he is overseen dancing around the pond, and he narrowly escapes being turned into a prince.

{My thoughts} – This is a beginners chapter book.

In chapter one – Frog throws a party in the fall for him and his friends. This fall he invites someone new named Chameleon. This upsets some of his friends because they don’t want the party to change. Frog not wanting to leave anyone out invites him anyways. By the end of the party even one likes Chameleon and his special trick of blending in with things around him.

In chapter two – Frog dances in his free time because it makes him happy. When he discovers his friends are watching him, it makes him shy and embarrassed. Eventually he learns that his dancing helps to make his friends happy also. Soon he and his friends start to dance together.

In chapter three – Frog gets caught by a little girl. The little girl tells him that she needs to kiss him and he will become a prince. He then tells her all the things that will make turning him into a prince boring and her a princess boring. Soon they both decide to be friends and she goes on her way.

{what austin learned} – Chapter one – That its important to make new friends. That Chameleons change colors. Also, that it’s always good to include everyone.

Chapter two – It’s okay to be shy, no one is going to make fun of you.

Chapter three – That you shouldn’t kiss a frog to try and make them a prince.

Final Conclusion: 5 Star Rating.