I received this book for free from Amazon Purchase in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 14 years of age due to its use of language, mental illness, sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
{I Am Alive: Cameron Jace}I Am Alive by Cameron Jace
Series: Born This Way
Published by Storykiller Books on December 18, 2013
Genres: Dystopian, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 276
Format: eBook
Source: Amazon Purchase
Buy on Amazon

{Synopsis} –Every girl dies – not every girl really lives.

Fans of Divergent, Hunger Games and the Maze Runner will crave this world of dark secrets, intrigue and thirst for a better tomorrow.

I am not my heart rate.
I am not my sleeping problems.
I am not my stress.
I am not my fears.
I am not how I look like.
I am the very essence of me.
I am my will.
My passion.
My beliefs.
I am how much I can give and receive love.
I am infinite and possible & unpredictable…

Where Decca Tenderstone lives she is considered a monster, the lowest rank in Faya, where teenagers are ranked on a scale from one to ten on their sixteenth birthday. There’s never been a Ten., but Six and above are permitted to live and grow up into adulthood. Five and below become monsters and are brutally killed for entertainment by the Summit. Period.

But Decca is different. She refuses to give in.

And when she meets the mysterious Leo Van Ark, who, in spite of being a Nine, is also hunted by Summit, she has a stronger reason to survive.

Will Decca and Leo ever make it, though no monster has ever survived? Will Leo open up to get and tell her about his secret? Will they change the world together? And most important of all, could Decca become the first Ten in Faya ever?

“Every girl dies – not every girl really lives.”

{My thoughts} – This book is centered around a sixteen-year-old girls life by the name of {Decca Tenderstone}. She is on a journey to locate a friend of hers that had been sent to the {Dizny Battlefieldz}. In order to be sent there you need to be ranked as a {Monster} what that means is that {The Summit} doesn’t believe you to be anything but wasted space living within society and those that are classified {monsters} have the potential to destroy their entire families. She decides that since she is old enough to participate in the rankings that she will make sure she is sent there so that she can search for her missing friend that she hopes is alive but is under the impression is dead. She is a determined girl that makes some friends and loses some friends throughout her quest. The biggest lesson that she learns is how to stand up for herself and show {The Summit} that she is not going to back down and will stand ground on her beliefs. The fact that she is strong willed, forceful and fearless helps to make this book an excellent read. If you liked the {Hunger games} I am sure you will like this book as it is similar but had a much better storyline, the characters help to engage the reader and the plot has many twists and turns that makes you want to continue reading the book completely through. I look forward to reading the second book in this series as this one made for an incredibly good read that didn’t disappoint me in the least. It lived up to all my expectations in a book! The biggest of which is leaving me wanting more!

Final Conclusion: 5 Star Rating.