I received this book for free from Read for Review in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

{Owlet: Emma Michaels}Owelet by Emma Michaels
Series: Society of Feathers
Published by Tribute Books on October 13, 2012
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 138
Format: eBook
Source: Read for Review
Buy on Amazon

{Synopsis} –Somewhere between falling and flying… there is a girl.

Iris has a secret. She lost her memory eight years ago and never told a living soul. After an asthma attack one night she finds out that her dreams of a strange house on a snowy island may be a memory resurfacing but the more she learns about the past the more she realizes the life she has been living is a lie. As the façade her father has built starts to crumble around her she will have to decide which means more to her; the truth or her life.

{My Thoughts} – This book is about a young girl named Iris that has chronic asthma. She is a special girl who has had her entire past hidden from her in order to ensure her safety.

This book is slightly different then what I normally read and it has an interesting take on birds and humans and how they can intertwine with one another.

Iris is this sweet girl that is opinionated, lost, confused and unsure about who she is suppose to be. She hears this voice and it appears to guide her, but she isn’t always sure if she should listen to it or not. It reminds me of when my conscience is telling me to do one thing but I am thinking I should do something completely different. It’s hard to solely make a choice based on what your heart thinks is right in comparison to what your gut is telling you is right. This voice is like her heart telling her what to do while her gut says another. The voice is later explained in the book.

Iris is left doubting everything she has come to believe as her reality. Later she is left questioning who she is and who she can and cannot trust. It’s a remarkably well written book and I enjoyed it very much. I cannot wait until I get to read the next one in the series.

Final Conclusion: 5 Star Rating.