{Poppleton: Cynthia Rylant}

{Poppleton: Cynthia Rylant}

{Synopsis} – From Newbery Medalist Cynthia Rylant and acclaimed illustrator Mark Teague comes Poppleton, a posh and persnickety pig with friends and adventure abound!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader!

This series is part of Scholastic’s early reader line, Acorn, aimed at children who are learning to read. With easy-to-read text, a short-story format, plenty of humor, and full-color artwork on every page, these books will boost reading confidence and fluency. Acorn books plant a love of reading and help readers grow!

Meet Poppleton — he’s the new pig in town! He makes friends with his new neighbor, Cherry Sue. He goes to the library every Monday to read adventure stories. And he helps his friend Fillmore take his medicine when he is sick.

This Acorn edition contains brand-new content, including story prompts and how-to-draw pages!

{My thoughts} – This is a series of books that are in the middle of being republished. They are a loved children’s series that is fairly popular. I am actually enjoying the fact that Scholastic has decided to release them under the Acorn brand.

Poppleton is a fun pig. He lives a simple life and has a nice set of friends. He enjoys spending time with his friends, going to the library and helping his friends when they aren’t feeling well.

This book is written in short sentences on each page, which helps to not overwhelm the young reader. It is nicely illustrated so that the images and the story blend nicely with one another.

At the end of the book is some added content including how to draw your very own Poppleton. I found that to be rather neat. I am always interested in seeing how the illustrators create their illustrations.

I look forward to reading more books in this series as they are released. I also can’t wait to share these books with my littles when they are old enough to start reading them!

Final Conclusion: 5 Star Rating.


No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *