{A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder: Holly Jackson}



{Synopsis} – For readers of Kara Thomas and Karen McManus, an addictive, twisty crime thriller with shades of Serial and Making a Murderer about a closed local murder case that doesn’t add up, and a girl who’s determined to find the real killer–but not everyone wants her meddling in the past.

Everyone in Fairview knows the story.

Pretty and popular high school senior Andie Bell was murdered by her boyfriend, Sal Singh, who then killed himself. It was all anyone could talk about. And five years later, Pip sees how the tragedy still haunts her town.

But she can’t shake the feeling that there was more to what happened that day. She knew Sal when she was a child, and he was always so kind to her. How could he possibly have been a killer?

Now a senior herself, Pip decides to reexamine the closed case for her final project, at first just to cast doubt on the original investigation. But soon she discovers a trail of dark secrets that might actually prove Sal innocent . . . and the line between past and present begins to blur. Someone in Fairview doesn’t want Pip digging around for answers, and now her own life might be in danger.

This is the story of an investigation turned obsession, full of twists and turns and with an ending you’ll never expect.

{My thoughts} – I had seen this book circulating throughout the young adult book fandom and it had peaked my interest. I am always down for a murder mystery type book. I wasn’t expecting what I’d come to find between the pages of this particular book though. This book after the first 10 pages had sucked me so far down the rabbit hole that I’d found it utterly difficult to set down and concentrate on other things.

Pippa is senior at her High School and they have to do these capstone projects. She decided to do hers on a very touchy topic within her community. Hers was about the murder of a girl a few years ahead of her and the attempt to prove that the individual assumed to have killed her, she wanted to prove they were innocent. This by far is no easy feat for even the best of the detectives. At the time everything had taken place though the police had been certain that they’d had an open and shut case and that there were no loose ends.

When Pippa starts diving head first into her project and asking many question she stirs up a lot of raw wounds. She stirs up a lot of mixed emotions. Although many are okay with her doing her project, many others are not and she has to figure out who is friend and who is foe.

This is one of the best laid out young adult mystery books I have read in awhile. I really enjoyed the roller coaster ride that it had taken me on and upon looking this book up. I have learned there is another to be released in May of this year. I think that’s what I read. I can’t wait – It is already added to my Amazon wish list!

If you enjoy murder mystery books, then I am sure that you will without a doubt enjoy this book as much as I did. It was such a brilliantly written book!

Final Conclusion: 5 Star Rating.


Posted

in

,

by

Tags:

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *